The CSI is one of the four united churches in the Anglican Communion. “That they all may be one” is the motto of the Church of South India. The perseverance and commitment of dedicated reverends has made it today the largest protestant church in India based on the number of members. Widening its spiritual frontiers the CSI established a church in the Emirate of Dubai planting its first roots in the UAE.

C.S.I. Tamil Church, Sharjah was founded on December 12, 1997 as a branch of C.S.I. Tamil Parish, Dubai to further widen its boundaries within the UAE. The Sharjah church was established with a motive of spreading the word of God among the Tamil community living in Sharjah and Ajman. In the beginning the services in Sharjah were conducted by Lay preachers from Dubai and the communion services were led by the Presbyter Incharge of Dubai. In 2003 an additional Vicar joined C.S.I. Tamil Parish Dubai to minister for the Sharjah congregation exclusively.

Our church got the recognition as an independent pastorate on May 8th, 2006, by the C.S.I. Synod. The CSI moderator assigns Reverend’s on deputation from various CSI Tamil diocese.

1 Rev. William Samuel (1997-2000) Coimbatore Diocese
2 Rev. A. Kamalaseharan (2000-2003) Madurai – Ramnad Diocese
3 Rev. Thomas Gurupatham (2003-2006) Trichy – Tanjore Diocese
4 Rev. Justin Nayagam (2003-2006) East Kerala Diocese
5 Rev. Basker Albert Rajan (2006-2009) Tuticorin – Nazereth Diocese
6 Rev. Winston Moses (2009-2012) Madurai – Ramnad Diocese
7 Rev. Y. Larance (2012-2015) Kanyakumari Diocese
8 Rev. T. J. K. Barnabas (2015-2019) Tirunelveli Diocese
9 Rev. P. Rajamanickam (2019  till date) Trichy-Tanjore Diocese